Computing & Home Tech — Laptop cooling pads

KLIM Wind review: the published limits of this four-fan laptop cooling pad

The KLIM Wind is a 730-gram laptop cooling pad with four fans, a metal grid and two USB ports. This source-only review separates its published limits from its cooling claims.

PickBadger has a paid business relationship with KLIM Technologies and earns a commission on purchases made through this page. How this works.

KLIM Wind Laptop Cooling Pad product photography from KLIM Technologies
Product image from KLIM Technologies. PickBadger has a paid relationship with this brand, disclosed above.

Short verdict

Source-only assessment No score is published because PickBadger has not handled this product. The summary below interprets only the manufacturer’s published specifications, labels and terms.

KLIM publishes a clear basic specification: four fans at up to 1200 RPM, 730-gram weight, two USB ports and noise up to 26 dB. The page does not provide airflow, electrical input or control details, while its 19-inch fit language depends on the laptop extending beyond the pad.

Cooling specification
Laptop fit
Ports and controls
Published value

Overall

/5

Score withheld

Listed price

$29.97

Checked

What works

  • Four fans are specified to spin at up to 1200 RPM
  • Published weight is 730 g and thickness is 3.1 cm
  • Two USB ports leave one port available after the pad is connected
  • KLIM publishes a maximum noise figure of 26 dB

What doesn’t

  • The technical table stops at 17.3 inches while the page title extends to 19 inches
  • KLIM publishes no airflow volume or static-pressure figure
  • USB connector, voltage and current requirements are not specified
  • The official specifications do not describe fan switches or speed control

Specifications

Manufacturer figures
Product type USB-powered laptop cooling pad
Number of fans 4
Maximum fan speed Up to 1200 RPM
Published noise level Up to 26 dB
Technical-table laptop range 11 to 17.3 inches
Dimensions 40.1 × 27.2 × 3.1 cm
Weight 730 g
Surface Metallic grid
USB ports 2 total; KLIM says one remains free while connected
USB connector and electrical input TODO: verify
Fan switches and speed controls TODO: verify
Software connectivity or polling TODO: verify
Package contents Cooling pad, USB cable and user manual

Source: KLIM Technologies Wind product page, technical specifications, retrieved . View the source. Figures are the manufacturer’s own published claims, not PickBadger measurements.

Buy it if

You want a wide, USB-powered laptop platform and can make a purchase decision from the published basics: four fans, 1200 RPM maximum speed, 730 g weight, a metal grid and two USB ports.

Skip it if

You need a documented airflow figure, electrical input, control layout or guaranteed full-platform support for a laptop larger than 17.3 inches. KLIM does not publish those details in its technical table.

What the four-fan specification establishes

KLIM lists four fans with a maximum rotational speed of 1200 RPM. The top is a metallic grid, and the complete pad measures 40.1 by 27.2 by 3.1 cm. Its listed weight is 730 g. These are useful purchasing facts because they describe the amount of desk space and bag weight involved without pretending to quantify the temperature change a particular notebook will see.

The company also gives a maximum noise level of 26 dB. That is a manufacturer figure, not a result produced for this review. KLIM does not state the distance, background noise, fan setting or measurement standard behind it, so the number cannot support a like-for-like comparison with another pad whose test conditions might differ.

RPM is similarly limited. It tells us how fast the fan rotors can turn, but not how much air reaches a laptop intake. The official page gives no cubic-feet or cubic-metres-per-minute airflow figure, no static-pressure value and no fan curve. Blade design, grille resistance and the alignment between fan and laptop vents all matter. KLIM’s statement that the pad cools a computer quickly remains a manufacturer claim rather than a quantified result.

Laptop size and the 17.3-inch boundary

There are two distinct fit statements on the same official page. The technical specification says the Wind is compatible with laptops from 11 to 17.3 inches. The description says it covers sizes through 16 inches and can also hold 17.3-inch, 18-inch and 19-inch machines, with the larger computers extending over the pad’s edges.

That distinction should survive into a buying decision. A machine can remain stable on a platform without the platform matching its footprint. KLIM says two rear legs provide inclination and front pegs stop a laptop sliding, but it does not publish the usable deck dimensions between those restraints or a maximum supported load.

Screen diagonal alone also cannot confirm fit. Two laptops with the same display size may have different chassis depths, widths and intake locations. Measuring the laptop base against the published 40.1 by 27.2 cm pad is more informative than relying on the screen-size label.

USB connection and controls

KLIM says the Wind carries two USB ports and is supplied with a USB cable. Its description explains that one port remains available when the other connects the pad to the computer. The product page does not identify the connector type, input voltage, current draw or what power and data, if any, the spare port can pass. Those points are marked TODO: verify rather than filled from a reseller listing.

The technical section is also silent on the control arrangement. It does not document a power switch, fan-bank selector, speed dial or lighting control. Customer comments on the page are not manufacturer specifications and are not used to close that gap. Buyers who need a particular control scheme should confirm the current hardware revision with KLIM before ordering.

No app, network link or polling function is described. This appears in the specification table as an unresolved connectivity field, not as an assumption that every unit or revision must work identically.

What is included and what remains unproven

The published box contents are the KLIM Wind, a USB cable and a user manual. KLIM also advertises a five-year warranty. The page does not expose the manual’s electrical table in its product specifications, and it does not provide an IP rating, load limit, airflow test or temperature protocol.

That leaves a straightforward evidence boundary. The Wind is demonstrably a 730 g, four-fan metal-grid pad with stated 1200 RPM and 26 dB ceilings. Claims about extending component life, improving performance or delivering a specific temperature drop need operating data that the page does not supply.

Questions

Will the KLIM Wind fit an 18-inch or 19-inch laptop?

KLIM's description says 18-inch and 19-inch laptops can sit on the pad, but their edges will extend beyond it. The technical specification lists compatibility only from 11 to 17.3 inches. Treat larger sizes as an overhanging placement, not a full-platform fit.

How fast and how loud are the KLIM Wind fans?

KLIM specifies four fans running at up to 1200 RPM and publishes noise of up to 26 dB. Those figures describe rotational speed and the company's noise limit. The page provides no airflow volume, pressure curve or defined acoustic test method for a performance comparison.

Does the KLIM Wind consume a laptop USB port?

The product page says the pad has two USB ports so one remains available after connection. KLIM includes a USB cable, but its technical table does not identify the connector format, input voltage, current draw or supported pass-through power. Those electrical details remain to verify.

How much cooling should the KLIM Wind provide?

KLIM claims its four fans cool a laptop quickly, but the official page publishes no temperature reduction, airflow or pressure measurement. Results would also depend on where a laptop draws air and where the pad's fans sit beneath it. No numeric cooling outcome can be established here.

The bottom line

At $29.97, the KLIM Wind has a concise official specification and a useful physical-size disclosure. Four fans, two USB ports and a 730 g chassis are clear; cooling output, electrical requirements and control details are not. Owners of 18-inch or 19-inch laptops should note that KLIM describes an overhanging fit, while its technical compatibility line ends at 17.3 inches. The score remains a placeholder until an operator can assess the product on a declared basis.

PickBadger Research Desk

Specification desk · sourcing and comparison

The PickBadger Research Desk produces source-only product analyses. It reads manufacturer datasheets, labels, service terms and product pages, records the URL and date behind material figures, and leaves a visible gap whenever a claim cannot be traced to the company that publishes it.

Assesses Manufacturer datasheet and product-page sourcing · Like-for-like specification comparison within a product line · Published-claim verification and dating · Identifying figures a manufacturer does not publish

All 25 reviews by PickBadger Research Desk →

All Computing & Home Tech reviews →